Review: The Austen Escape

The Austen Escape
The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*Disclaimer: This review contains spoilers*

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. At the beginning I was confused by the plot. I wasn’t sure what Golightly was and why it meant so much to Mary. I didn’t quite understand the whole thing with Nathan either, especially since they seemed to be heading in different directions from the beginning of the story.

I have to say though, that the longer I read, the more I understood. And, of course, the more I enjoyed the story. For those of you who liked Shannon Hale’s Austenland, this is a similar book…just without a couple more mature scenes. While this is a cleaner novel, I still would only suggest it to older teens as it does deal with abuse (neglect not physical) and the mental affects stemming from the abuse.

I haven’t enjoyed a book like this in quite a while. I loved how the some of the characters spoke about Austen with such familiarity while others were rather clueless. I loved the engineering aspect Mary brought in with how she thought and saw things. I loved the musical aspect with the piano. (Also, Bosendorfers… ) I loved how the characters spent time doing normal every day things together (even though they were pretending to be characters from Austen in Austen’s time). I loved how the issues brought up in the story were resolved in the end. All the misunderstandings with Nathan, Isabel, and with Mary herself.

There were a few things that didn’t wrap up very well. I was really confused by Mary’s reaction to Nathan discussing work with Craig. She’s in love with him judging by the way she was acting only 10 minutes before, but the moment she hears him talking to Craig and mentioning her name she concludes she must be getting fired. Why? Not really sure…unless it was just her insecurity about Karen not liking her. But then she refuses to listen to anything Nathan has to say and books a flight home to America without telling him…she doesn’t even ask him what the call was about? Doesn’t give him time to explain? Quits her job? Albeit, all this confusion and hubbub draws the conclusion out very nicely, but I really questioned the reasons the confusion and hubbub were caused. That’s really my “con” though.

This book was given to me by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and comments here expressed are entirely my own.

Ratings (# out of 5):
Violence: 4 (not physical violence but neglect)
Romance: 4 (There was kissing, but not a ridiculous amount and not mentioned in detail. Also, I applaud the writer for having the couple talk and spend time together before a kiss is ever given…meaning the first kiss was towards the end of the book)
Language: 5 (I don’t remember any language)

View all my reviews

Don’t be satisfied with mediocrity!

Therese May Signature

Leave a Reply

